valspar golf tournament players

Valspar Golf Tournament: Things You Should Know

The Valspar Championship is a golf tournament that takes place in Palm Harbor, Florida, and is played on the PGA tour.

It is held annually at the Copperhead Course at Innisbrook Resort and Golf Club in Palm Harbor, Northwest of Tampa.

Venue, Time, and Prize Money

The Innisbrook Resort and Golf Club is a complex that comprises a 620-room hotel, 4 golf courses, spa, 3 restaurants, and conference facilities. The resort is owned and operated by Salamander Hotels & Results since 2007 – before that it was owned by the Golf Trust Investment Group since 2004, while being run by Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide under their Westin Brand.

The Valspar Championship is played in the month of March each year. It has a prize fund of $6.3 million. It is not a long-lived tournament, as tournaments go, having been established relatively recently in the year 2000.

History of the Tournament

In the year 2000, the tournament was founded, originally under the name: the Tampa Bay Classic. Originally, it took place as an alternate event in autumn and late summer.

Between 2003 and 2006, the Tampa Bay Event had a slot in the schedule all by itself in late October (early November in 2003) as the last full-field event before the Tour Championship.  The Chrysler Corporation was the title sponsor.

From 2007 up to date, the tournament has taken place in March, as the Players’ Championship moved to mid-May.

For a while, there was some speculation about the tournament’s future beyond 2007 due to its temporary lack of a title sponsor. But on January 2, 2007, tournament officials and the PGA Tour announced a six-year sponsorship deal with PODS of Clearwater, Florida. However, the company withdrew its sponsorship after the 2008 event, forcing tournament officials to search for a replacement.

Transitions Optical, Inc, a photocromic lens manufacturer with headquarters in Largo, was announced as the title sponsor on June 4, 2008. After the 2012 season, Transitions withdrew from the event.

EverBank agreed to be the presenting sponsor for the tournament just two weeks before the 2013 edition. September of that year, Valspar Corporation signed a four-year deal that would see it become the new title sponsor of the event. The event had now changed its name from Tampa Bay Event to the Valspar Championship.

The contract period was from 2013 to 2017. However, in the midst of this original contract period, the PGA Tour, Valspar Corporation, and Copperhead Charities (the Valspar Championship host organization) announced a three-year title sponsorship extension. Therefore, the current contract period will carry Valspar’s commitment to the event through 2020.

Past Winners of the Tournament

Here is a list of winners of the championship (with different names) over the years, going backward from 2017.

1. Adam Hadwin (Canada) on March 12, 2017 –Valspar Championship

2. CharlSchwartzel (South Africa) on March 13. 2016 – Valspar Championship

3. Jordan Spieth (United States) on March 15, 2015 – Valspar Championship

4. John Senden (Australia) on March 16, 2014 –Valspar Championship

5. Kevin Streetman (United States) on March 17, 2013 – Tampa Bay Championship presented by EverBank

6. Luke Donald (England) on March 18, 2012 – Transitions Championship

7. Gary Woodland (United States) on March 20, 2011 – Transitions Championship

8.JimFuryk (United States) on March 21, 2010 – Transitions Championship

9. Retief Goosen (South Africa) on March 22, 2009 – Transitions Championship

10. Sean O’Hair (United States) on March 9, 2008 – PODS Championship

11. Mark Calcavecchia (United States) on March 11, 2007 – PODS Championship

12. K.J. Choi (South Korea) on October 29, 2006 – Chrysler Championship

13. Carl Pettersson (Sweden) on October 30, 2005 – Chrysler Championship

14. Vijay Singh (Fiji) on October 31, 2004 – Chrysler Championship

15. Retief Goosen (South Africa) on November 2, 2003 – Chrysler Championship

16. K.J. Choi (South Korea) on September 22, 2002 – Tampa Bay Classic presented by Buick

17. John Huston (United States) on October 22, 2000 – Tampa Bay Classic

From the above list note two things:

  • That the tournament did not take place in 2001. If you examine the months and dates on which the 2000 and 2002 tournaments were held, it will click. It was during the 9/11 period, and so the tournament was cancelled on account of the terrorist attacks.
  • That only two players have won the tournament more than once. These are K.J. Choi (2002, 2006) and Retief Goosen (2003, 2009).

The 2017 Valspar Championship

Here is a list of the golfers from 1st place to 9th in the 2017 tournament and the prize money they walked away with:

1. Adam Hadwin - $1,134,000.00

2. Patrick Cantlay - $680,400.00

T-3. Jim Herman - $365,400.00

T-3. DominicBozzelli - $365,400.00

5. Tony Finau - $252,000.00

6. CharlSchwartzel - $226,800.00

T-7. Wesley Bryan - $203,175.00

T-7. Henrik Stenson - $203,175.00

T-9. Russell Henley - $176,400.00

T-9. John Huh - $176,400.00

This was Adam Hadwin’s first PGA Tour win. He defeated Patrick Cantlay in a thrilling finish. Not only did he get to take home the over one million dollars prize, but he also earned a spot in the Masters. He is the 14th Canadian golfer to win a PGA tour event.

 At the end of the 2017 season, Adam Hadwin played in the 2017 Presidents Cup where he was placed at ninth in the International team with an average of 2.60 (the first position went to Hideki Matsuyama who had an average of 9.21).

The International team comprises the top 10 players in the Official World Golf Ranking at the conclusion of the 2017 Dell Technologies Championship and two captain’s picks.

This was Hadwin’s Presidents Cup debut, so it has been a good year for him, considering this is also the year of his first PGA Tour win (at the Valspar Championship).

He earned the PGA win after firing an even-par 71, with Patrick Cantlay coming at a close second with 68.

Final Words

From what you have read, you can see that the Valspar tournament has had an uncertain history where sponsorship is concerned, but its star has continued to shine bright.

It is today sure of sponsorship until 2020. And being part of the PGA Tour speaks to its merit and worthiness.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.